Statement

on the Independence of Broadcasting Regulators

As suggested by the EPRA Executive Board and amended at the Naples meeting, 9 May 2003

In consideration of recent developments within the audiovisual sector and the contemporary pressures confronting regulatory bodies in several countries, the following regulatory authorities, which are also members of the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA) would like to emphasise the importance of independent regulators in the field of broadcasting in democratic societies.

More specifically, the signatories authorities would like to highlight Point II. 6 and 7 of the Council of Europe Recommendation Rec(2000)23 on the independence and functions of regulatory authorities for the broadcasting sector, which states that:

" Precise rules should be defined as regards the possibility to dismiss members of regulatory authorities so as to avoid that dismissal be used as a means of political pressure.

"In particular, dismissal should only be possible in case of non-respect of the rules of incompatibility with which they must comply or incapacity to exercise their functions duly noted, without prejudice to the possibility for the person concerned to appeal to the courts against the dismissal. Furthermore, dismissal on the grounds of an offence connected or not with their functions should only be possible in serious instances clearly defined by law, subject to a final sentence by a court."

Signatories

AUSTRIA -Kommunikationsbehörde Austria

BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA - Communication Regulatory Agency

ESTONIA - Estonian Broadcasting Council

GREECE - National Council for Radio and Television

IRELAND - Broadcasting Commission of Ireland

ISRAEL - Council for Cable and Satellite Broadcasting

ISRAEL - 2nd Authority for Television and Radio

ITALY - Autorità per le Garanzie nelle Comunicazioni

LATVIA - National Broadcasting Council

<u>LITHUANIA</u> - Lithuanian Radio and Television Commission

LUXEMBOURG - Conseil National des Programmes

NETHERLANDS - Commissariaat voor de Media

NORWAY - Norwegian Media Ownership Authority

POLAND - National Broadcasting Council

ROMANIA - National Audiovisual Council

SLOVAK REPUBLIC - Council for Broadcasting and Retransmission

SLOVENIA - Telecommunications, Broadcasting and Post Agency of the Republic of Slovenia

SPAIN - Audiovisual Council of Catalonia

SWEDEN - Swedish Broadcasting Commission

SWEDEN - Radio and TV Authority

TURKEY - Supreme Council for Radio and TV